Quality Vs. “The Unicorn”

I really don’t have a good opening. I am forever perplexed by the never ending ability of men, I mean boys, to avoid a difficult conversation by falling off the face of the earth. Let me back up a bit.

The Urban Dictionary defines “The Unicorn” as:  “that girl that you can’t catch. Everything about her is so perfect (divine, if you will) getting with her is unfathomable. She is truly a blessing from God. Bumping into her on the sidewalk is a good day. Holding a conversation with her… you were probably dreaming. Anything beyond that – good luck. It takes time, effort, and a whole lot of persistency. But never give up; unicorns are said to be “uncatchable,” but nothing is impossible. Impossible is nothing. Under no circumstances, never ever, not ever, at no time, should you ever marry a girl who is not your unicorn…  Everyone has a unicorn; it’s just a matter of spotting her and tracking her down. Give it time, it will happen. “For destiny grants us our wishes, but in its own way, in order to give us something beyond our wishes.”-Urban Dictionary

I have had multiple in-depth conversations with men about Unicorns. There is always a discussion of her being hot beyond any other girl they have ever met. Also alongside her attractiveness is her ability to be not too smart(or the ability to hide it very well) and has an over the top bitch attitude. Most men I have spoken to would do anything to date their Unicorn. So let’s see what happens when a man gets to date his Unicorn.

I didn’t even intend to date him. We met for a drink, then a dinner, then another dinner and another. My first mistake…I let him pay. If I didn’t intend to date him, why did I let him pay? Our last date was absolutely amazing. My pursuit of him so far was non existent. He called, he texted, he snapped, he made all the dates. We spent several hours talking and laughing on our next to last date. This was our first kiss…date 4 or 5 depending on if you count the drinks. My one mistake-I asked to see him the next night. I awoke the next morning and allowed myself to be excited. Through the excitement I allowed my vulnerability to show. He came to my house we watched a movie and…crickets.

When you read more about the Unicorn it truly does place a fictional, mystical idea of the perfect woman. But what happens when she becomes real? The death of a unicorn is the sole responsibility not from the women…but the idea of her is killed by a man, the man. He is now disappointed, afraid, vulnerable and allows his created idea of her to vanish.

The reality is the girl…his Unicorn, places the now mythical idea on the boy and he is now her Unicorn. With the tables turned, she is no longer the unicorn. She is a real person with feelings, thoughts, wants and desires. A unicorn  no more, she is disposable. It’s easy to give up the another girl. “I know you are afraid, but fear can make you kind. Fear is like a companion. Fear can bring you together, fear can bring you home.”-Clara, Doctor Who. Most men are afraid of their Unicorn. But more certain than that…men without true quality are afraid of a real girl. They ignore the fear and the ability to accept their own vulnerability.

This is when his quality begins to show. The girl discovers her thought of him being a Unicorn and he is just another Ass! If the boy can not be a man long enough to tell the truth…

Now, we can circle back to the first paragraph…I don’t have a closing either. I have wasted too much time as it is on this.

There is an interesting tie to these men. One might call it a twist of fate. A few weeks prior to this disaster…another fella disappeared on me. Both have a similar “acquaintance”. This “acquaintance”, prior to their vanishing from our relationship, the “acquaintance” contacted me to ask if we were dating. Within days…”So poof, vamoose! Son of a Bitch.”-Jay Z. I’m not a Unicorn…even though some may consider me to be in the beginning. “I ain’t passed the  bar, but I know a little bit.”-Jay Z also said. I know enough to try and see if these twists of fate lead me to the involvement of someone, maybe the “acquaintance”.

 

 

Leave a Reply

